Join Our Mailing List
Email:

Home > UNS > 140425-02

RELEASE NUMBER: 140425-02
DATE POSTED: APRIL 25, 2014

Soaking wet…with a new found respect

by Sgt. Daniel A. Carter
USASOC Public Affairs NCO

FORT BRAGG, N.C. (USASOC News Service, April 25, 2014) -Being a self-taught swimmer, I thought that maybe doing some water training would be a cool experience. Last week at Tucker Gym, Soldiers from U.S. Army Special Operations Command were conducting Combat Water Survival Training and Wet Silk Training in preparation for a water jump coming up at the end of April.

I originally showed up wanting to take some photos of the event and then head back to the office once I had what I needed to write a story. But once I showed up, I was asked if I wanted to participate and I thought to myself, "Sure why not, how hard could it be?"

After some questioning, I found out what the actual training entailed before I was in over my head.

"The purpose of [the] training is to ensure people have adequate swimming ability, are comfortable in the water, and so that they can participate in water jumps," explained Sgt. 1st Class Michael Donahue, the Airborne Operations Noncommissioned Officer in Charge for Headquarters and Headquarters Company.

"The training is broken up into two parts, the combat water survival training event and the actual wet silk event," explained Donahue. "The CWST event ensures that the Soldier can swim. The wet silk event, in my opinion is actually the best part of the training and the thing that they are taking away from it."

While water jumps are not your everyday jump here on Fort Bragg, in USASOC they are just another type of airborne operation that lets Soldiers have fun and build confidence on the drop zone.
After hearing Donahue's explanation,  I changed into a uniform that the gym provides for water training and jumped in.