Hot Topics

  Social Media

Subscribe in a reader


Weather Update
USASOC News Service's items Go to USASOC News Service's photostream

Join Our Mailing List

Home > UNS > 130225-02



Night Stalkers awarded for Valor

By Maj. Mike Burns
160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment Public Affairs

HUNTER ARMY AIRFIELD, Ga. (USASOC News Service, Feb. 25, 2013) - Several members of the 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment (Airborne) were presented with valorous awards in a small ceremony February 22, at Hunter Army Airfield, highlighting the expertise and skill of the aviators and crewmen within the regiment.

“Today we get to recognize a number of Night Stalkers whose actions embody the values that have established the legacy of this organization,” said Lt. Col Bill Golden, commander, 3rd Battalion, 160th SOAR (A).

He described to the audience the circumstances of each mission in which the awards were earned. 

On each occasion, the crews were required to react to dynamic combat environments in extremely challenging terrain, Golden said. With complete disregard for their own safety, they each provided precise rotary wing support to the troops on the ground despite a determined and tenacious enemy.

Lt. Gen. Charles T. Cleveland, commanding general, United States Army Special Operations Command, presented the valorous awards to each Night Stalker as their Family members and friends looked on.

The Silver Star Medal, the military’s third highest award for valor, was presented to:

Maj. Robert K. Beale
Chief Warrant Officer 4 Douglas M. Englen
Chief Warrant Officer 2 Ryan T. Grant
Chief Warrant Officer 2 Brian A. Tallent
Staff Sgt. Jeremy B. Thibodeaux
Staff Sgt. David F. Parkhurst
Cpl. Nicholas L. Arzamendi

The Distinguished Flying Cross Medal, awarded for heroism or extraordinary achievement while participating in aerial flight, was presented to:

Staff Sgt. Wilfred O. Browne
Sgt. Bobby W. Buchanan
Sgt. Aaron L. Green
Sgt. Christopher G. Harmon
Sgt. Andrew P. Hayes
Sgt. Bryan L. Johnson

Air Medal with "V" device, awarded for acts of heroism while participating in aerial flight, was presented to:

Capt. Sean S. Karrels
Chief Warrant Officer 4 Sean W. Redmond
Chief Warrant Officer 4 Kyle J. Smith
Staff Sgt. Joseph A. Fernandez
Staff Sgt. Kenneth G. Martin
Staff Sgt. David F. Parkhurst
Sgt. Daniel P. Flinn

Sgt. Jonathan L. Nichols was also presented the Purple Heart Medal during the ceremony.

Night Stalkers continue to serve around the world in support of overseas contingency operations.  The ceremony included several awards that were presented via video teleconference to Night Stalkers currently deployed overseas.